Spot The Lesion 1

As I said at the beginning of 2012 I am going to start a recurring series of posts I will call “Spot The Lesion”. As I find pictures that display lesions I will post them and leave the floor open as I want my colleagues to post comments to call out the lesions that they see – this is a chance for Osteopathic Manual Practitioners to show off a bit. The instructions are simple – look at the picture, click on the “read more” link, go to the bottom of the page and post a comment calling out the lesions that you see in the picture!As a brief description I will say that this picture is of a well muscled male that most would view as very healthy – I will say that the Osteopathic lens can be used to identify current or future issues based on clearly visible lesion patterns. If you want to get deeper call out the plane and axis that you notice a lesion in. Keep digging with me and post your findings in the comment section on the bottom of the page!

8 thoughts on “Spot The Lesion 1

  1. Pingback: Spot The Lesion 1 | Classical Osteopathy in Ontario | Canadian Academy of Osteopathy Hamilton, Ontario. Canada.

  2. I am neither an osteopath, nor a student of osteopathy (officially) but I hope I may play as well. I am an RMT, practicing my understanding of lesion patterns, and how they move through the planes, on what axes. I intend to study osteopathy in the near(ish) future, so I really appreciate this practice!!

    the most obvious lesions are the right side bending/ left rotation in the lumbar spine, and left sidebending/right rotation just above it in the lower thoracics.

    The rotations would be going through the coronal plane on a longitudinal axis.
    the side bending would be going through the … sagittal plane? and maybe the transverse planes? On an anteroposterior axis.

    There’s some stuff going on higher up, but I’m not really sure what. I’d guess further compensations, with a right sidebending and left rotation in the upper thoracics.

  3. Anyone is invited to provide thoughts and insight so good for you Jen! Just to provide you some feedback, rotations occur in the transverse plane on a longitudinal axis and side bending occurs in the coronal plane on an anteroposterior axis. Very good eye though! You will make a good Osteopathic Manual Practitioner soon!

    • Thanks for the correction. Planes and their relationships to movements have always been a source of confusion for me. That 3D mental imaging is SUPER challenging!! I think, for me, it’s keeping the plane static, and allowing the part/joint to be mobile, within the mental model.

  4. One thing to point out however .. the picture shows the model with his hands above his head .. this places his thoracic spine into comparative extension … this will effectively cloud the picture a little as the model is not in an anataomically neutral or near neutral .. normal posture for assesment .. the asymetrical effect of active mm lever created through the arms will also effect the assesment too… but its fun to spot the lesion (group)… this type of model is also difficult to access due to hypertonic muscle activity effecting the dynamic of the vertebra themselves …

    • You are 100% correct. One of the limitations of this exercise for me is that I am unable to present proper assessment pictures. However, as you said, it is still fun to have a look and see what we are able to find despite the limitations!

      • Hello Sam ,
        This is a great initiative of yours… its curious when you look at the image ,how eveything starting at the level of D9 begins to break down , the keystone (and inter-arch pivot has been compromised) creating a dramatic muscular reaction in the para-spinal mm below, and notice how this all begins around the level od D4 where the apex of the polygon of forces ( aka Littlejohn,TE Hall ‘mechanical lines of force’, now considered as a ‘1st generation tensegrity model’ ) meet as a result of weight bearing / mechanical loading of the head …. interesting when you apply the ‘classical model’ of spinal mechanics to what is visibly seen going on in the picture above … food for thought… any how .. thats my contribution look forward to reading many others ..

  5. Tim, amazing observations! I am also hoping to have more insight such as yours occur in response to these posts. Hopefully more people will also leave comments on Spot The Lesion 2!

Leave a Reply

